Read what guests are saying on: TripAdvisor | Facebook | Instagram | Google

"Shangri La by the Sea" 

"I stayed in beautiful Delfin suite for a month and never wanted to leave. Jardin del Mar is everything you could want in a Mexican style hacienda by the sea. The property is quirky and artful and feels almost like staying in a private home surrounded by Mexican treasures. The setting is blissful with the ever present sound of the surf and shore birds. The ocean is alive with the sound of pelicans plunging into the sea in search of their dinner while gulls clamour around them hoping to steal their catch. Perhaps my favourite sound was the gentle tapping sound of oyster fishermen diving and cleaning their catch. Occasionally I glimpsed whales and dolphins drifting through the bay and every evening cowboys gallop along the seashore on their way to Bucerias. The horses are an important daily event for the house dogs Luna and Blue who greet them from their wall overlooking the beach.

Allisa and Ty are the most amazing hotel managers I’ve ever encountered in my travels. They couldn’t be more helpful and assisted in everything from suggesting day trips to negotiating the best rate for a rental car. I can’t say enough about how comfortable and welcoming they made me feel. As an added bonus, their lovely dogs Luna and Blue where always available for a pat and some company. 

Returning to Jardin del Mar can’t come soon enough. I only hope nothing changes about this beautiful Shangri la on the sea. It is everything I hoped it would be."

-- B.B., Calgary, Ontario, Stayed March 2018 (Casa Delfin) 

"Incredible location with tons of character - A true hidden gem!"

"Jardin Del Mar is a wonderful property to stay at while in Mexico. The lot is maintained and manicured to perfection with small knick knacks in every corner.The location has easy access to Taxis and is a 15 minute walk away from an incredible Sunday market. Ty and Alissa were available everyday for any questions or requests, they exceeded our expectations completely and we cant wait to visit again. Other reviews have said "pictures dont do this place justice"... and seriously, pictures do not do this place justice. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to Jardin Del Mar, you wont regret it!!"

--A.S., San Diego, CA, Stayed February 2018 (Casa Isabella)

"If you are going to Mexico, this is the place to stay!"

"The best vacation we've had in years. From the rooms, to the grounds, to the pool, everything is kept immaculate. The site is right on the beach and all six rooms have a view of the ocean. The sound of the waves gently hitting the beach will lull you to sleep at night. If you are looking for a place that takes you back in time to where things are slower and life was simpler, this is the place. When planning a trip to Mexico, we highly recommend this villa as your destination."

--V.B., Portland, Oregon, Stayed January 2018 (Casa Maria)

"So Much Character" 

"Jardin del Mar greatly exceeded my expectations. It is such a great alternative to the big chain, mega condos. This place is perfect for couples, families and small/medium sized groups. My wife and I went down as part of a group and we had a blast. The grounds were beautiful, the decorations were amazing and the place just has an incredible vibe. It's total relaxation from the minute you walk through the door. I see an annual trip in our future and can't wait to get back there. The hosts were great and there isn't anything I'd change about the trip except for maybe adding another couple nights next time."

--D.A., Portland, Oregon, Stayed January 2018 (Casa Santiago)

"Incredible Vacation at this Breathtaking Resort!"

"This property is truly stunning! We took our family here for a week over New Years and what fabulous memories we all have about this trip! The views overlooking the ocean are amazing. Every inch of the resort is so unique and beautiful! The rooms are impeccable; extremely clean and comfortable and the grounds are very well maintained. We loved the salt water pool. It is in a great location, situated between La Cruz and Bucerias and a short distance to both. It's about a 20 min walk up the beach to La Cruz from the property. Ty and Alyssa were amazing hosts and were always available to call a taxi for us (which were very quick), order any food delivery and absolutely anything else we needed for our stay. They went above and beyond for us! This vacation exceeded our expectations and we cannot wait to return again next year!"

 --L.K., Toronto, Ontario, Stayed January 2018 (Casa Maria)

"To Add 10 Years to Your Life...Stay Here"

"From the moment I stepped foot on that absolutely gorgeous property I felt happy, peaceful and very safe. The hosts Ty and Alissa are very sweet people. You are made to feel at Home!  Alissa is a wealth of information on the Mexican culture. If there is anything you need...Ty is there!!! I met some very sweet, dear, beautiful people that I will never forget ..Juan, Ivetta, Auntie and the Boys..xoxo.. For anyone leaving dogs home and missing their furry kids..Blue..and Luna..the Guardians of the property are there awaiting your attention if you so desire. ... To sum up everything..If I could live in Mexico and have the Jardin del Mar to myself ....oh what an exciting dream....But...it would not be fair to keep such Mexican grace, peacefulness, comfort and such total relaxation to my self... and no...I did not want to go home either and not sure if there ever would have come a time that I would have been ready to go!"

-- V.P., Nova Scotia, CA, Stayed April 2018 (Casa Serena & Isabella)

"A True Gem"

"My wife and I stayed at Jardin del Mar from March 31 to April 12 2017. The property is absolutely beautiful. Every day we spent here was truly peaceful and rejuvenating. We stayed in the Delfin suite. Every morning we were greeted by stunning oceanfront views and sunrises and every evening were lulled to sleep by the ocean's crashing waves. Most afternoons were spent by the poolside loungers and in the saltwater pool. It is an easy 20 min walk in to La Cruz and a slightly more challenging 45 min walk in to Bucerias. We made use of the outdoor grill, and the view from the whale watching deck is a treat. The property managers, Ty and Alyssa, were great. We were treated to cold beer, guacamole, and salsa upon arriving. And freshly squeezed OJ for the morning. Alyssa and Ty booked us sea cruises, cabs, and dinner reservations while we stayed. They were wonderful hosts. We can't wait to return!"

-- J.L., Toronto, Ontario, CA, Stayed April 2017 (Casa Delfin) 

-

"Beautiful Property, Wonderful Hosts" 

"We visited Jardin Del Mar Feb. 8-13, 2017 and are sure to visit again. It's hard not to repeat what's been said in all of the other great reviews so far, but we wholeheartedly agree with all of them, and would absolutely recommend this property to anyone seeking a relaxing getaway. We stayed in Casa Palapa and found it to be just our style. As mentioned before it's sort of like a treehouse or a beach hut, but morphed into a studio apartment. It had everything we needed, including the incredible surprise of large bowls of fresh guacamole and pico de gallo waiting for us in the fridge! For those interested in less "rustic" accommodations, Ty and Alissa (more on them in a moment) were kind enough to show us a couple of the other rooms that were unoccupied. All of them were beautiful, each with it's own personality and fabulous view of Banderas Bay. The property really has to be seen to appreciate the detail the owners have put into every aspect from the grounds to the decor. Perhaps the best aspect of our stay were our hosts, Ty and Alissa. I had booked our stay through TripAdvisor (my first TA booking) prior to finding the Jardin-del-Mar website, and was slightly leery that things might not go smoothly. I emailed Alissa for confirmation and received a reply within an hour. She assured me that booking through either website worked fine and put my mind at ease. She also gave great directions that made getting there from the airport in a cab very easy. Ty and the two wonderful "ambassadors" Blue and Luna greeted us at the gate, showed us to our room and gave a quick tour of the property. After we settled in, Ty and Alissa mentioned that they were heading into La Cruz and we hitched a ride to gather "provisions" and wound up joining them for a fun dinner at Tacos on the Street. We didn't want to glom onto our hosts for our entire stay, but they were always available when we had a question or needed to call a taxi, and made us feel like we were old friends visiting from the States. We spent our days walking the beach into Bucerias (about 45 minutes to the center of town) or La Cruz (25 minutes to the Marina), having breakfast or lunch, then returning to Jardin and relaxing by the pool until we went back to one town or the other for dinner. When it was time to leave, we wanted to stay. The best endorsement for any vacation is being left wanting more!"

-- J.H., Denver, CO, Stayed February 2016 (Casa Palapa)

“Ty and his wife were very responsive and communicative before and during our stay. They had great advice on local activities (go to Punta de Mita for snorkeling and whale watching). We arrived to find four beers, home made guacamole and salsa, and some of the best tostada chips I've ever had. Not only was the location perfect for the quiet getaway, but it had all these lovely nooks and crannies to check out. There's a huge grill and kitchen on the 2nd and 3rd floors outside so you can cook while enjoying the views and weather. Highly suggest this location for couples looking to escape to paradise. Can't recommend the hosts and location enough! 5/5 stars.”

--A.J., Long Beach, CA, Stayed February 2017 (Casa Serena)

"Enchanting"

"I feel as though I have just returned from an adventure in paradise. Jardin del Mar was an experience far beyond my expectations. Located close to Puerto Vallarta it is a destination unto itself. Entering through the ancient wooden gate one encounters a world of peace and beauty. The sound of the surf and the graceful circling of the seabirds is a true respite for the soul. We were warmly greeted by Ty and Alissa, the property managers who offered their experience and knowledge to help us "gringos" navigate our way through the area. They made sure our stay was perfect in every way. Our room was beautiful, filled with local artifacts and vibrant colors. The entire property feels as though it was carefully and lovingly created to provide a place to enchant and welcome any traveler. Every nook and cranny contains something to capture interest and the sense of wonder. This was our first ever trip to Mexico and for sure won't be our last. Saying that, I can also say there is only one place we will stay when we return. Gracias Jardin de Mar and hasta luego!!"

-J.E., Seattle, WA, Stayed January 2017 (Casa Maria) 

"This place has a soul...an amazing soul."

"We rented Casa Palapas, a studio Casita. The original owners are now absent and have brought on Ty and Alissa (a pair of 30 somethings from Seattle) to manage the property. These guys are amazing and I hope they stick with this place. The place is an unbelievable estate that has been built over a number of years with a vision that can only be experienced. Words cannot describe the soul that oozes from every corner of the property. There's an artistic touch thats been managed with an architect's mind. The gardens, the grotto by the sea, the amazing tile mosaics, and stone and pottery details gave us new splendors every day. This is not luxury but its more than anyone needs and it is an amazing experience in it's own right. We'll be back as soon as time and money permit."

-J.S., Winnipeg, Manitoba, CA, Stayed December 2016 (Casa Palapa)

"This place is amazing and just what the doctor ordered. I've been coming here for years. It's centrally located and 20 minutes outside of the city of Puerto Vallarta. Sayulita and Punta de Mita are just 15 minutes away. La Cruz's Marina is a short walk down the beach one direction and to Bucerias in another direction. Being right on the water is gorgeous and the gardens and rooms are tranquil, charming and relaxing. This is paradise. I lounge by the pool and take the kayaks out daily...."

-E.T., Los Angeles, CA, Stayed January 2017 (Casa Serena)

"AMAZING!"

"I had the pleasure of staying here for one week over New Years. From the moment you drive up to the gate, you will be blown away. Your first impression of walking through the front doors of the grounds, the pool and the ocean will take your breath away. The attention to detail in the decor, the landscape and colors does not go unnoticed. We stayed in the "Maria" a two bedroom suite impeccably designed in vibrant colors of yellow and green, complete with living area, kitchen and private veranda. For a few days, other guests were staying as well, but I never felt cramped for space... it was actually fun getting to know other guests in a way you wouldn't do in a large resort. Ty and Allissa were very gracious hosts. They helped with local excursions, restaurants, taxis and were always there to answer any questions. The house even comes with two mascots...the friendliest dogs you will ever meet. If you are looking for a get away that is relaxing with beautiful views and amenities, this is your place!"

-A.W., Los Angeles, CA, Stayed January 2017 (Casa Maria) 

"Paradise on Bandera Bay"

"What a wonderful place!  We were impressed even before our arrival by how helpful the hosts/managers when we were initially booking our room. And then, we walked through the huge wooden doors onto the property and fell in love with the view, the gardens, the antiquities, the pool and works of art. Not to mention our beautiful room on the second floor. We also had the opportunity to see some of the other rooms which are also lovely. 

The property is small and intimate which lends to a serene and quiet experience unlike the hubbub of the tourist zones. You can easily walk the beach to Bucerias (45 min) or La Cruz (25 min in the opposite direction) if you want to dine out. Taxis are cheap and readily available if you're not into the walk.

Ty and Alissa are the most helpful and engaged hosts we have ever met. They go above and beyond to make sure that their guests well-cared for and lack for nothing.

We were very sad to leave this perfect piece of paradise....we might have to stay for 3 weeks next time!"

-- M.M., Victoria, Canada, Stayed January 2018 (Casa Delfin)

"Beautiful and Private Beachfront Estate!"

"Jardin del Mar is an amazing property located 30 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta airport . I cannot describe how peaceful and beautiful the grounds of this property are. The pool, which faces the ocean, is gorgeous with several lounge chairs and tables. Additionally, there are multiple areas around the property for guests to sit, play games, read or just watch the ocean. There are several guest rooms on the property, each decorated in distinct vibrant colors and all very comfortable. With so many guestrooms in the house, it is a perfect setting for large groups, families and couples. The house has a large kitchen and a great outside dining area on the second floor with fantastic views of Puerto Vallarta. Guests also have direct beach access from the house. There are several restaurants nearby if guests want to venture out of the house. Overall, Jardin del Mar is a perfect oasis to unwind and relax, and I definitely look forward to visiting again!"

--D.L., Los Angeles, CA, Stayed September 2016 (Casa Maria)

"Jardin del Mar is MAGICAL!"

"I had the pleasure of staying at Jardin del Mar and had a fantastic time! I'd seen photos of the property prior but there's nothing like experiencing it in-person. The drive from the airport to the home was easy. As with many properties like these, you don't really know what awaits simply based on the front of the property as it's secluded behind a wall. The moment the two incredible antique double doors are opened, the beautiful mystery is revealed with a gorgeous view of the front courtyard, the pool beyond that, and the Pacific Ocean beyond that. You're immediately transported, taken aback by the stunning view, and every concern you had is left out on the street and all you can think is WOW and where's my margarita?!?! It also happened to be quite warm while we were there and the air conditioning in each casita worked perfectly. Thank you for that. This is the kind of place where you can just relax on a chaise lounge, catch up on some reading, nap, eat, drink- repeat and never leave for the duration of your stay but I'd highly recommend hiring a car to take you to Sayulita for a day on the beach; an easy drive from the home. I will definitely be back!"

--J.H., Culebra, Puerto Rico, Stayed October 2016 (Casa Delfin)

"Stunning property, fantastic hosts, perfect ocean front location!"

"We have travelled quite a bit over the years and honestly, this property is so beautiful, clean, perfect boutique size, and therapeutic. The hosts, Ty and Alissa, truly are wonderful people, professional, always attentive, and a joy to visit with. Trust me, once you walk through the massive front entry, see the pool, structures and the view straight thru to the ocean, you are in heaven. We stayed in Case Maria, ocean front, with an amazing covered deck, perfect for enjoying the views, sounds, wine, and naps!! The true Mexican architecture and decorating are gorgeous, sunrises amazing, and we really appreciated Ty and Alissa installing in-room safes just before our stay. Thank you both, it was such a pleasure to meet you. Best wishes always and we will see you again soon with the rest of our Canadian family!"

-- C.F., British Columbia, CA, Stayed February 2018 (Casa Maria)

"Breathtaking. The first words that came to mind when we walked into the property. The place is exactly as described, yet more vibrant in person. The property is like a lush garden and the buildings are all different and full of character. We loved the place, and the managers, Ty and Alissa! They were amazing from the start. I had some pretty specific things that I wanted in the place I was going to book and Alissa was so helpful in finding a unit that was perfect for us! ....Alissa really went above and beyond! From the first email to the minute we left the property to go home, they were always there to immediately answer any questions and help when needed. We got in late and only grabbed a couple groceries on the way, so they even invited us out to tacos our first night! We arrived to fresh squeezed oj, freshly made guac, a couple beers and clean drinking water in our fridge and chips on our counter. There were iodine drops in the kitchen in case you wanted to wash any fruits or vegetables. Although we didn't use them and didn't have any problems, I think it's very nice to have if you want to. The unit itself was very clean and so cute! It was perfect with a good sized bathroom, a good sized living/bed area, a king bed and a kitchen! There was even a little patio area outside of our unit that we had all to ourselves. The kitchen had basics like paper towels/coffee/oil/salt & pepper/etc and the bathroom had soap and the softest towels! Everywhere we looked we would see amazing little details from when the owner built the place and if we ever asked Alissa about the place she would tell us where things were from or how the owner built it and she would say everything with such a sense of pride, which I just loved. It just shows that they are not there to simply "manage" and they actually take a pride in ownership, which you don't come across in rentals in Mexico too often. The property was a great location for us. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Puerto Vallarta, so it was very quiet and peaceful, yet close enough to visit for the day and close enough to go to other destinations such as Sayulita for the day. It's right in the middle really, about 20-30 mins either way to PV or Sayulita if I remember right. We would lay in bed at night and fall asleep to the sound of the waves, no loud music or party noise just occasional fireworks, which was exactly what we were looking for."

--E.H., San Diego, CA, Stayed February 2017 (Casa Serena)

;